Uncomfortably, Beautifully Human
Uncomfortably, Beautifully Human
“You need clouds to make a good sunset”
6
0:00
-1:05

“You need clouds to make a good sunset”

A poem inspired by something my brother said about the sunset.
6
“You need clouds to make a good sunset”
Don’t fret 
as you begin to meet with your dreams 

As the day seems to drift asleep 
will you still keep your wishes awake?

As you drift into a silent slumber 
The test to surrender 
is one we all remember 

As the sun heads to bed 
How is it that here I greet 
what brings me most peace 
and the fears I hold 
of stories yet to be told 
or written 
From the places hidden from view 
inside of me and you 

Is it true
that I must fear what I can’t see? 

Or is what’s hidden
like the roots of a tree 
Keeping me grounded to the Earth 

For, isn't it the unseen that serves our lives
until the ending of our times?

with love,

Emma


Thank you for reading this article or listening to the podcast. I greatly appreciate all of you that engage with and listen to what I share.

This week’s invitations, if you’d like to actively get involved, you can either:

  • share a poem or spoken word of your own that’s been inspired by a sunset! Either in the comments below, or share it with me via email emma@emmaevelyncampbell.com

  • what theme would you like me to share a poem about next week? Let me know in the comments or reaching out to me using my email above

  • enjoying my poetry? You can purchase my first book here

Discussion about this podcast

Uncomfortably, Beautifully Human
Uncomfortably, Beautifully Human
A podcast that grows and changes with me. Full of inspiring conversations, meditations, moments of introspection, poetry and even more, Uncomfortably, Beautifully Human in its current evolution, intends to create the space for the full continuum of human experience to be seen, heard and witnessed. Coming outside of the conventions of how a podcast should be and what it should look like, I intend to offer you into my world as it changes and evolves. I hope you find the episode that you most need at this moment in time.
emma@emmaevelyncampbell.com