Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

I grew up hating my period

Today, I felt inspired to talk on and share a poem that came to me after I shared this note

about re-connecting with my period and menstrual cycle. Whilst this is an experience that’s biologically specific to a woman, I think this experience and poem, really speak to the theme of liberation, no matter what gender you identify with.


My bleed 
I am freed 
for natures cycle to run through me 
so that I can begin to see clearly 
Read the serendipity 
The signs 
An intuition beyond mind 

Now, it is my time 

Where I remember the power of the feminine 
The power of the womb 
The woman 
To be the space for new creation 
The elation of a re-birth 
in the chaos of the mess that came before 
Now I have learnt 

That it’s suppression that keeps us disconnected 

Oh for how long I had neglected my body 
Now, what I have to say is 

I’m sorry 
Please forgive me 

for not allowing my flow to run free, because 
I was 
Ashamed of 
Afraid of 

The blood 

That reminded me of a past trauma 
One, a former self had to endure 
But now in this release I’m sure 
There’s nothing I need be sorry for 
I can love the one who labelled herself a whore 
From all the words I heard others say before 
Yes, now I’m so sure 
Now I am certain 
that the closing of one curtain
is the start of a new show 
Where the seeds I would once sew 
Can be watered to finally grow

What did these words open up for you? Feel free to reply to this email or share in the comments below.

🌼

and I will be hosting a free online open mic and spoken work event on the 9th of June. This will be a nourishing space to to sit down and connect as a community, share and listen to one another’s hearts through our poetry. Everyone will have time to share if you wish to (you’re more than welcome to join to simply listen!), and we'll open the space for community sharing after each piece of work so we can celebrate our unique and beautiful gifts. Head to: https://lu.ma/8g1o12re for all of the information, timings and to register so that you can receive the Zoom link for the event. We would love to have you there!

with love,

Emma

Discussion about this podcast

Uncomfortably, Beautifully Human
Uncomfortably, Beautifully Human
A podcast that grows and changes with me. Full of inspiring conversations, meditations, moments of introspection, poetry and even more, Uncomfortably, Beautifully Human in its current evolution, intends to create the space for the full continuum of human experience to be seen, heard and witnessed. Coming outside of the conventions of how a podcast should be and what it should look like, I intend to offer you into my world as it changes and evolves. I hope you find the episode that you most need at this moment in time.
emma@emmaevelyncampbell.com