Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
2

I haven't even showered yet

A poem and a conversation (with a few tears) on the themes of feeling seen, safety and validation.
2
The world I see,
A place of equanimity 
Symmetry | ƨγmmɘtɿγ

Where, what I look at through my eyes
is a reflection of what's inside 

Sometimes, I escape to the skies
to try to leave behind
the places where I couldn't find peace
Where my true voice could not speak

Sometimes, I feel sad
that others may see me as weak 
So my truest nature I mask 
until the day I can at last 

Arrive 

to the time I feel safe not to hide
Because, sometimes, a disguise 
is not a set of lies 
but a cocoon 
Holding the seed that is you 
until you have the space to bloom 

with love,

Emma

p.s.

I’ve included some reflection questions that you can engage with if you wish on the themes of this poem and conversation, if you’d like to, you can share your answers and thoughts with us in the comments…

1. what are my own masks and disguises that life is inviting me to notice/embrace/love? How can I acknowledge how these have served me or still do?

2. what things can I do or practice to be more patient, compassionate and loving with myself (or with others) and my own needs? How can I communicate these with others?

3. what does living in my wholeness mean/feel like to me?

Leave a comment

Also, if you’re enjoying my poetry, you can join a free online poetry open mic with Mariah Friend and I on the 9th of June! This will be a nourishing space to to sit down and connect as a community, share and listen to one another’s hearts through our poetry. You can also utilise this space to connect with others and listen to them share their own work. Head to the link here: https://lu.ma/8g1o12re. for all of the information. We’d love to have you there with us. 🌼

2 Comments
Uncomfortably, Beautifully Human
Uncomfortably, Beautifully Human
A podcast that grows and changes with me. Full of inspiring conversations, meditations, moments of introspection, poetry and even more, Uncomfortably, Beautifully Human in its current evolution, intends to create the space for the full continuum of human experience to be seen, heard and witnessed. Coming outside of the conventions of how a podcast should be and what it should look like, I intend to offer you into my world as it changes and evolves. I hope you find the episode that you most need at this moment in time.
emma@emmaevelyncampbell.com