Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

A spoken word poem exploring the question "what is love?"

Sitting in the Ibizan sun, writing poems for my next book, I found myself wandering into familiar territory, with 'love' once again my muse.
What is love?

Is it how we learn to trust?
Or finally, believing we are enough?
Is it the rivers that call me to the ocean?
Is it my heart open?
or unwavering devotion?
Is it patience?
Slowly sipping a morning's first coffee
The sweetness in a toffee
Or a mug of cocoa by the fire?
Is it peace and quiet?

I think love is this

and the moments where we're only building bricks
where the full picture is unknown
the moments we argue and feel alone
as though our hearts may turn to stone
where we must postpone our plans 
for love is also one who rocks the boat
as well as what holds you afloat
Love is the many notes that form a song
Love is seeing when you've been wrong 
and standing strong in what you know
For love is like going with the flow of a river
Some days moving quicker
some days taking it slow
some days crashing against boulders
trying to find something left in a fire's smoulders

For love is both and all

Moments of still, rise and fall
Love is both honouring your call 
and holding space for choice
for love does not deny another's voice or truth.
Maybe it's better I ask, 

"who is love?"

For love appears to, when you take a look, follow the guidance of its own book
with its own agenda
that requires you to surrender to receive
all it's here to teach both you and me 
so, if I, 
from what I've seen through my eyes 
felt in my body 
and heard through my ears 
if I, could get near to answering the question...
 
"who is love?" 

I'd say a teacher or, perhaps a guide 
that is absent of all pride 
only one thing on its mind
that you find the experiences for your growth 
without trying to control 
that you open to the direction of your soul
and that you practice the art of love as a whole 
not looking for a half 
that you practice the art of love without a mask 
being all that you are 
that you practice the art of love not as a repetition of your past 
but from the intentions of your heart

To remember this practice is a dance 
that can take many forms

Love won't try to make an impression
Love will only show you many differing reflections
offer you a whole range of suggestions

yet love is not a feeling

It is a pathway to great healing
peeling back the layers that you've made in times you've felt afraid
For love also holds pain
se par ati on
preparation

Love is complex 
& simple

So when I ask 

"who is love?"

I can see that love must be the nature of who I am
Calling me to return from where I ran
Remember the words I sang 

for love is who we are

even when we've drifted far 
love is a frequency that we re-find 
when we journey beyond mind 
beyond time 
love is a practice to remind ourselves and others to be kind 
put ourselves in different shoes 
don't be afraid to loose and fail 
for love is still with us as we grow old and frail 

Don't we all have a unique tale of love?
Maybe love is many things
many stories, different experiences bring
different songs we can sing
Maybe who love is, is different for us all
Yet, I think what unites an understanding of what love is
is that it's a practice to both give and receive
and still I believe it's inside
inside, where we need to send love first 
so that it's something we learn to share without conditions 
for love should never create a prison 
but a space to grow and follow dreams 
a place to feel seen 
heard 
an environment to learn 
so, maybe, love is all 

'who'
'what' 
'where' 
& 'when'

the glue that helps us mend 
then I can't pretend to know the answer to 'who', 'what', 'where', when is love 
I can simply trust it as my guide 
and try to practice its true expression through my life 
for I think, it is love that is the one who is wise.

with love,
Emma

Join our guided meditation for the Winter Solstice on the 22nd here: https://lu.ma/pwwpkk24

If you’d like to connect more intimately with this poetry, you can read my book, 44, here.

If something sparked in you as you read, share it with me emma@emmaevelyncampbell.com or in the comments below.

0 Comments
Uncomfortably, Beautifully Human
Uncomfortably, Beautifully Human
A podcast that grows and changes with me. Full of inspiring conversations, meditations, moments of introspection, poetry and even more, Uncomfortably, Beautifully Human in its current evolution, intends to create the space for the full continuum of human experience to be seen, heard and witnessed. Coming outside of the conventions of how a podcast should be and what it should look like, I intend to offer you into my world as it changes and evolves. I hope you find the episode that you most need at this moment in time.
emma@emmaevelyncampbell.com