Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

A Journey Through Poetry: Week 3

Week 3 of my Sunday mini-series, where I read through and speak on different poems from my book, 44: A Journey Through Poetry.
Heaven out of reach to its maker
Heavy burdens leading to a life  
with high expectations 

People keep living a lie 
Desperate for a perceived good life
Creating as products of our environments
Blind to what’s in front of our eyes

Tunnel visioned

Striving after what we really fear
Failure to respect past wishes 
Dreams and hopes now concepts of our imagination 
Thought up in a time without intention 
Caught up to our future
we can’t make an intervention 
Inventing new realities where we are

Parallel to the universe we have left behind 

A devil in disguise to our own remise
Placing bets on fixed outcomes 
with odds in favour of the house

Echoed thoughts of a place we could have been 
Leading to a place where we cannot be
A trip down memory lane got me 
tryna create new versions of my reality 

A life led by a case of forgotten dreams
Now that’s insanity

Thank you to everyone for joining me on this journey through poetry. This is poem number 27 in the third verse of my book. In this video, after reading the poem to you, I talk about the conflict between listening to the dreams you experience inside and embracing your current reality. I offer some questions for you to reflect on and invite you into your own exploration of uniting this conflict.

I’m feeling under the weather with the onset of flu symptoms (thanks to the cold rainy weather this week) so won’t be typing this up until later in the week, so if you’re receiving this via email, I invite you to tune into the video and refer to the transcript if you need the written copy. As always, thoughts reflections and questions are always welcome in the comments or by email emma@emmaevelyncampbell.com.

Thank you so much for listening or reading. I'll be back next Sunday for Week 4, reading another poem from 44 Journey Through Poetry. If you want to purchase this book and support my work, you can go to the link here.

with love,

Emma

On a side note, speaking to you in Feb 2024, I’ve just finished writing my second book, Uncomfortably, Beautifully Human. A collection of 222 poems over two and a half years. The words are the residue of the emotions, thoughts, experiences and observations of my human experience. These poems, although written by my hand and through the lens of my experiences, are not my poems or words, but mirrors, moments in time for whatever you may need to receive, as you read.

I’m currently looking for the right publisher, or agent who connects deeply with my work and would like to partner with me for the publishing journey of this book. If you feel a resonance and have any idea of the person/company that might be ‘the one’, or you have any tips for the publishing journey, please reach out to me by email emma@emmaevelyncampbell.com. Your support is deeply appreciated.

0 Comments
Uncomfortably, Beautifully Human
Uncomfortably, Beautifully Human
A podcast that grows and changes with me. Full of inspiring conversations, meditations, moments of introspection, poetry and even more, Uncomfortably, Beautifully Human in its current evolution, intends to create the space for the full continuum of human experience to be seen, heard and witnessed. Coming outside of the conventions of how a podcast should be and what it should look like, I intend to offer you into my world as it changes and evolves. I hope you find the episode that you most need at this moment in time.
emma@emmaevelyncampbell.com